Ramblings On Masculinity: Re-affirming The Female Gaze Or Trying To Anyway

This week I took a long hiatus from blogging, tried to escape the reality of trolls by handing over my moderator-ly duties to a certain pink dragon, pulled up my socks and did my best to repel the gnawing feeling in the pit of my stomach that told me I should have been writing all this while. The plan worked, for a while, methinks. Turns out me not writing will be like my teacher not piling pits of reading on us. And just as effective. Though, I published the post on another blog (because I’m just that crazy). Here, let me get you started —

“This week as I lay hiatus-ing, I took it upon myself to dig through the annals of my journal to see if there was indeed any message from HigherPower present in my words, warning me that one day ‘this day shall come’, like a supposed self-fulfilling prophecy that a certain douche dude made about 20 years ago that, “Feminism was established to allow unattractive women easier access to the mainstream“. Lo and behold for exactly 20 years after we see Ugly Betty©! Thus my sudden need to go complete John Nash on my journals (sans the math of course). The above can also be read as an excuse to do something besides give my dog endless belly rubs or further procrastinating writing papers for a rewarding publishing factory that manufactures mass consent my college program. Or maybe I am just that far gone in the tutu circus. Anyway, my journals have been useless in the science of studying *me* for anything beyond drool marks and kisses around Plath and Gauri Deshpande’s names.

So, you are my witness dear BLOG! reading person, that I’ve never had any pre-anything on expecting that a certain Dude — Let’s call him Jerk # 256 for future reference — from the nooks of my life would come out to say to me, “You can’t write about men! Because you’re not one!”. With that premise, if I were to pull a Felicity Huffman stunt, you think all dude-ly insights will suddenly come running to my now transformed ManBrain in addition to being absolutely insensitive to trans-people? Don’t answer that, seriously. Let’s just pretend I can think like a ManPerson without the virtue of having a dangly appendage between my legs*. Or having the compulsion to scratch my nether regions in public for kicks. Or engage in any other stereotypical ‘manly’ behaviour, for no matter what commercials want us to believe, the key to manliness isn’t drinking peewater beer or using Axe deodorants. At least not where I hail from.

Masculinity as seen here, in the Orient as Said coined us, is basically constant dominance over the Other. The Other is just about anyone who refuses to conform to the norms of the KyriarchalMonster. In this case, even my dog falls outside the patronage of such a system considering I’ve raised him to rebel at everything. At least that’s what I keep telling myself when he’s chewed up yet another pillow. Kyriarchy’s first cousin, MonsieurLePatriarch has been controlling our lives from the day they realised we could be kept quiet, by force or otherwise, many moons ago.”

Read the rest of this article here

P.S. I’m sorry I didn’t reply to everyone who e-mailed me this week (thank you by the way), I promise I’ll get to it as soon as I’m done working on my SuperSecretProject by next week-ish.
P.P.S. I’m wondering if you, dear BLOG! reader will be interested in a series of posts exploring the media re-construction of Indian masculinity and femininity as it is taking place today?
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Smithsonian

     /  July 2, 2010

    I left a comment on the other blog too.

    To your question of, “I’m wondering if you, dear BLOG! reader will be interested in a series of posts exploring the media re-construction of Indian masculinity and femininity as it is taking place today?” – Yes, please. Can’t wait.

    Reply
  2. Matt

     /  July 3, 2010

    See, this is why your blog works and is popular. I LOVED the analysis, very well thought out and written.

    Can’t wait to read your take on media recontruction of Indian femininity and masculinity. Thanks for always pushing boundaries!

    Reply
  3. Peter

     /  July 5, 2010

    Of course I want to read your perspectives on Indian media!

    Reply
  4. Where do all these rude people come from?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 79 other followers

